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Proceedings 

BEFORE THE PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION OF OHIO 

In the Matter of : 
Thomas Overturf Notice of 
Apparent Violation and 
Intent to Assess Forfeiture 

Case No. 
15-359-TR-CVF 

PROCEEDINGS 

Before Kerry Sheets, Attorney Examiner, held at 

the offices of the Public Utilities Commission 

of Ohio, 180 East Broad Street, Hearing Room No. 

11-C, Columbus, Ohio, on Tuesday, May 7, 2015, 

at 10:00 A.M. 

u 

"-__/ 

Armstrong & Okey, Inc. 
222 East Town Street, 2nd Floor 

Columbus, Ohio 43215 
(614) 224-9481 - (800) 223-9481 

Fax - (614) 224-5724 
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Armstrong & Okey, Inc., Columbus, Ohio (614) 224-9481 



DRIVER/VEHICLE EXAMINATION REPORT 
Report Number: OH0616002692 

Inspection Date: 10/29/2014 Certification Date: 

Time Started: 13:22 Time Ended: 14:39 
Inspection Level: li - Walk-Around 

HWl Inspection Type: No HM Inspeclion 

DOUBLE A WAREHOUSE 
7575 PRESERVE TR 

CONCORD, OH 44077 

USDOT#: 02149003 

MC/MX #; 
State U: 

Phorte #: (440)344-8444 

Fax #; 

Driver: 

License if: 

Date of Birth: 

OVERTURF. THOMAS 0 

RP917848 

2/6/1956 

State: OH 

Location: ROADSIDE 

Highway: US422 
County: GEAUGA 
Shipper: 

MilePost: 

Origin: 
Destination: 

15 

MIDDLEFiELD.OH 

COLUMBUS.OH 
Bill of Lading: 
Cargo: EMPTY 

VEHICLE IDENTIFICATION. 

Unit Type Make 

1 TT KW 

Year State 

2004 OH 

2 ST WANC1998 OH 

BRAKE ADJUSTMENTS: 

VIOLATIONS : 

Vto Code 

392,2-SLLS3 

391.41A-F 

395.8K2 

396.3A1 

396.3A1BL 

393.82 

393.75C 

393.75C 

393.75C 

393.9 

393,60C 

390.21 A 

' N - Non-OOS or 

HazMat: 

Section 

392,2 

391.41(a) 

395.8(k)(2) 

396-3(a)(1) 

396.3A1BL 

393.82 

393.75(c) 

393.75(c) 

393.75(c) 

393.9(a) 

393.60(c) 

390.21(a) 

License* 

PVY1909 

TQH5668 

Equipment ID 

87 

RDS5230 

No brake measurements recorded. 

Driver OOS Violation; U -

Unit 

D 

D 

D 

1 

1 

1 

2 

2 

2 

2 

1 

1 

OOS 

N 

N 

Y 

N 

Y 

N 

N 

Y 

N 

N 

N 

N 

Unknown 

No HM Transported. 

Slate Citation 
Number 

warning 

UnitVfN GVWR CVSA# CVSAIssued* OOS Stkr.# 

1XKWDB9X34J065620 52.000 Y 

1JJV532U5VL435893 68,000 Y 

Verify" 

N 

N 

N 

N 

U 

N 

N 

U 

N 

N 

N 

N 

Crash Violation Description 

N State/Local Laws- Speeding 11-14 miles per hour over the speed 

N 

N 

N 

N 

N 

N 

N 

N 

N 

N 

N 

limit.-on US442 WB going 6lmph in a 45mph zone 
Operating a property-carrying vehicle without possessing a valid 
medical certificate. 
Driver failing to retain previous 7 days records of duty 
status-Driver stated was driving from middlefleld to 
Columbus, and owner told him he did not need. 
Inspection, repair and maintenance of parts & accessories=air 
leaking from air line at firewall. 
Brake system pressure loss=unable to hold pressure at 90psl 
when brake applied 
Speedometer inoperative / inadequate=driver stated that it stuck at 
5mph and owner told him to drive by RPM's thats why he was 
speeding. 
Tire-other tread depth less than 2/32 of inch=axie#5 left outside 
1/32 0/32 0/32 
Tire-other tread depth less than 2/32 of inch=axle#5 left inside 
1/32 1/32 0/32 
Tire-other tread depth less than 2/32 of inch=ax!e#5 right outside 
0/32 1/32 0/32 
Inoperable Required Lamp=plate tight 

Damaged or discolored windshield=webbing cracks on passenger 
side 
Not marited in accordance with regulations=Stanley Trucking on 
side of truck. Arm's trucking on Registration. Owner told me over 
phone to use this DOT#not dispiy 

Placard: NA Cargo Tank: 

Special Checks: I 1 Alcohol/Controlled Substance Check 

[ i Conducted by Local Jurisdiction 

[ I Size and Weight Enforcement 

( I EScreening 

[X ] Traffic Enforcement r~] Post Crash Inspection 

I i PASA Conducted Inspection Q PBBT Inspection 

1 1 Drug Interdiction Search Arrests: 

Report Prepared Bv: 

J,D HUGHES 

Badge #: Copy Received Bv: 

0616 OVERTURF, THOMAS C 
Page 1 of 2 
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DRIVERA/EHICLE EXAMINATION REPORT 
Report Number: OH0616002692 

Inspection Date: 10/29/2014 Certification Date: 

Time Started: 13:22 Time Ended: 14:39 

Inspection Level: (I - Walk-Around 

HM Inspeclion Type: No HM Inspection 

DOUBLE A WAREHOUSE 

7575 PRESERVE TR 

CONCORD, OH 44077 

USDOT#: 02149003 

MC/MX «: 

State #: 

Driver: 

License #: 

Date of Birth: 

OVERTURF, THOMAS C 

RP917848 

2/6/1956 
State: OH 

Phone #: (440)344-8444 

Fax#: 

Inspect ion Notes: Owner (Antonio R Dejesus) talked to me on the phone and wanted me to let driver get a log book fill it out and continue on his way. 

Owner told the driver he was going to fill out a log book and bring it to him and he was to tefl me he forgot it in his vehicle. 

Special Study Fields: 

Special Studyl: 

Special Study2: 

Special Study3: 

Special Study4: 

Special StudyS: 

Special Study6: 

Special Study7: 

Special Study8i 

Special Sludy9: 

Special StudylO: 

Locally Defined Fields: 
For-Hire Carrier: Y 

Driver City: GARFIELD 

Driver Zip: 44125 

Reason Code; TRAP 
CDLVerified{Y/N)-.Y 

Driver Address: 5162 E 112 TH ST 

Driver State: OH 

Photos Taken (Y/N): Y 

FMCSA Credentials Verified-Y/N: Y 

FMCSAOOS Order lssued(Y/N): N 

* Pursuant to authority contained in Title 49. Code of Federal Regulations, Section 396.9.! hereby declare vehicles with defects followed by an "Y" in the 
"Out of Service" column in the violations discovered section of this report OUT OF SERVICE. No person shall remove the out of service stickers applied to 
these vehicles, or operate such vehicles until the out of service defects have been repaired and the vehicles have been restored to safe operating 
condition. 

All violations of the FHMR and FMCSR or Title 49 of the Ohio Revised Code will be reviewed by the PUCO's Transportation Department to determine 
whether civil forfeitures should be assessed against any responsible parties in accordance with the penalty provisions of Title 49 of the Ohio Revised Code. 
If civil forfeitures are assessed, you will receive a separate notice by mail. These penalties may be assessed to motor carriers, shippers, and/or drivers. 

ATTENTION DRIVER: This report must be sent to the motor carrier whose name appears at the top of this inspection report within 24 hours. If the 
inspection report cannot be delivered within 24 hours the driver must mail or fax the inspection report to the motor carrier 

ATTENTION MOTOR CARRIER: The motor carrier must examine this report and repair alt the vehicle defects/violations noted above -AND- The motor 
carrier must sign the Certification of Repairs below and return the signed form to: Public Utilities Commission of Ohio, TASD - 4th floor, 180 E Broad St, 
Columbus, OH 43215-3793 -OR-Fax (614) 752-9274 within 15 days of the inspection. If "No Violations Were Discovered" then you do not need to return 
this report. Failure to return this report with the required certification can result in penalties up to $1,000 per day for each day the violation continues, up to 
a total of $10,000. If you have anyquestions. please contact (614)466-0429. 

MOTOR CARRIER CERTIFICATION OF COMPLETED REPAIRS: The undersigned certifies that all violations noted on this report have been corrected 
and action taken to assure compliance with the Federal Motor Carrier Safety & Hazardous Materials Regulations insofar as they are applicable to motor 
carriers and drivers. A false certification of repairs Is required to be prosecuted with penalties up to 510,000. 

Signature of Carrier Official: X Title: Date: 

Failure to return this report with the required certification can result in penalties up to $1,000 per day for each day the violation continues, up to a total of 
$10,000. 

Signature o( Repairer. Facility; Date; 

Report Prepared By: 

J.D HUGHES 
Badge #: Copy Received By; 
0616 OVERTURF, THOMAS C 
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John R. Kaslch, Governor 

Tliomas W, Johnson, Chairman 

Commissioners 

Steven D, Lesser 

Asim Z. Haque 

Lynn Siaby 

M Beth Trombold 

OH06I6002692D 

THOMAS OVERTURF 

5162 E nSTHST 

GARFIELD, OH 44125 

01/22/2015 

RE; NOTICE OF PRELIMINARY 
DETERMINATION 
Case No. OI-10616002692D 

Dear Sir or Madam; 

On 10/29/2014. a vehicle operated by ANTONIO DEJESUS, and driven by THOMAS COVERTURE, was 

inspected within the Stale of Ohio. As the result ofdiscovery oFthe following violations of the Commission's rules, StafT 

ofthe Commission timely notified THOMAS C OVERTURF (Respondent) pursuant to rule 4901:2-7-07, Ohio 

Administrative Code (O.A.C.). that it intended to assess a civil forfeiture against the Respondent in the following 

amount: 

CODE GROUP 

395.8K2 J 

39i.41A-E 4 

VIOLATION FORFEITURE 

Driver failing to retain previous 7 days records of duly status-Driver staled was 

driving from middiefieid to Columbus, and owner told him he did not noed. 

Operating a property-carrying vehicle without possessing a valid medical ceilificaie. 100.00 

Total orCroup i 100.00 

Total of Group 4 100.00 

TOTAL AMOUNT DUE: $200.00 

A conference was conducted pursuant to rule 4901:2-7-10, O.A.C., at which the Respondent had a full 

opportunity to present any reasons why the violation did not occur as alleged, mitigating circumstances regarding the 

amount of any forfeiture, and any other information relevant to the action proposed to be taken by Staff. 

As a result ofthe conference. Staff has made a Preliminary Determination that the Commission should assess a 

civil forfeiture against THOMAS C OVERTURF in the following amount: 

CODE GROUP VIOLATION FORFEITURE 

180 East Broad street 

Columbus, Ohio 43215-3793 
(614)466-3016 

www. PUCO, ohlo.gov 

An equal opportunity employer and service provide/ 

S7^-^f £^ ^ 

http://ohlo.gov


395.8K2 1 

39L4IA-F 4 

John R. Kasich, Governor 

Thomas W. Johnson, Chairman 

Commissioners 

Steven D. Lesser 

Asim Z Haque 

Lynn SJaby 

M Beth Trombold 

Driver failing to retain previous 7 days records of duty status-Driver stated was 
driving from middiefieid to Columbus, and owner told him he did not need. 
Operating a property-carrying vehicle without possessing a valid medical certificate. 

Total of Group 1 

Total of Group 4 

100.00 

100.00 

100.00 

TOTAL AMOUNT DUE: $200.00 

Within 30 days of this notice, you must either: (1) pay the assessed civil forfeiture or. (2) Hie a written request 
for an administrative hearing pursuant to rule 4901:2-7-13,0.A.C, Failure to file a written request for an administrative 
hearing within 30 days shall constitute a waiver of your right to further contest the violatiojis and will conclusively 
establish the occurrence ofthe violations. Such failure shall also constitute a waiver of your right to further contest 
liability to the state of Ohio for the civil forfeiture described in the notice and will result in the forfeiture amount being 
referred to the Ohio Attorney General's ofTlce for collection. 

Please consult the enclosed instruction sheet for additional information regarding this Notice of Preliminary 
Determination. 

Sincerely, 

Milan Orbovich. Director 

Transportation Department 

Compliance Officer: Wanda Williams 

180 East Bfoad Street 
Columbus, Ohio 43215-3793 

(614) 466-3016 

www. PUCO. ohiogov 

An equal opportunity ernployer and service provider 



Regulations Section C ^ V ^ / " ) / http://www.fmcsa.dol.gov/print/reguiations/title49/section/395.87gui 

Question 16: Are drivers required to include tlieir total on-duty time for thegrev jous^ 
7 to 8 days (as applicable) on the driver's record of duty status? | | EXHIBIT 

Guidance: No. 

Question 17: Can military time be used on the grid portion ofthe driver's 
duty status? 

Guidance: Yes. The references to 9:00 A.M., 3:00 P.M., etc. in §395.8(d)(6) are examples 
only. Military time is also acceptable. 

Question 18: Section 395.8(d)(4i requires that the name ofthe motor carrier be shown 
on the driver's record of duty status. If a company owns more than one motor carrier 
subject to the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations (FMCSRs), may the company 
use logs listing the names of all such motor carrier employers and require the driver 
to identify the carrier for which he or she drives? 

Giiidande: 

Yes, provided three conditions are met First, the driver must identify his or her motor carrier 
empldyer by a method that woOld'be visible'on a photocopy ofthe log. A dark check liiark 
by the carrier's name would beacteptable. However, a colored highlight of the name would 
not be acceptable, since these colors are often transparent to photocopiers. 

Second, the driver may check off the name of the motor carrier employer only if he or she 
workb for a single carrier during the 24 hour period covered by the log. 

Third, if the parent company uses Multi day Logs (Form 139 or139A),the log for each day 
must list all motor carrier employers and the driver must identify his or her carrier each day 

Question 19: Regulatory guidance issued by the Office of Motor Carriers states that a 
driver's record-of-duty-status (RODS) may be used as the 100 air-mjie radius time 
record "provided the form contains the mandatory information." Is this "mandatory 
information" that required of a normal RODS under section 395.8(d) or that of the 100 
air-mile radius exemption under section 395.1(e)(6)? 

Guidance: The "mandatory information" referred to is the time records specified by 
§395.1(e)(5) which must show: (1) the time the driver reports for duty each day; (2) the total 
number of hours the driver is on duty each day; (3) the time the driver is released from duty 
each day; and (4) Ahe tnlril timp far thn pr-̂ -̂ orling 7 day^ in arcix^ancp^ ^'th §3H5J 
dftvaP9-asggio?"thedTfsHfmo or intermittently. 

Using the RODS to comply with §395.1(e)(5) is not prohibited as long as the RODS 
contains driver identification, the date, the time the driver began work, the time the driver 
ended work, and the total hours on duty. , ^_ , 

Question 20: When a driver fails to meet the provisions of the 100 air-mile radius 
exemption (section 395.1(e)), is the driver required to have copies of his/her records 
of duty status for the previous seven days? Must the ^mfer prepare daily records of 
duty status for the next seven days? 

4 of 8 5/6/2015 11:51AM 
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Regulations Section >^ ' C \ } ^ ^ . / J I / \ A ^ \ ^ http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/print/regu!at\ons/title49/section/395.8?gui 

Guidance: The driver must only have in his/her possession a record of duty status for the 
day he/she does not qualify for the exemption. The record of duty status must cover the 
entire day, even if the driver has to record retroactively changes in status that occurred 
between the time that the driver reported for duty and the time in which he/she no longer 
qualified for the 100 air-mile radius exemption. This is the only way to ensure that a driver 
does not claim the right to drive 10 hours after leaving his/her exempt status, in addition to 
the hours already driven under the 100 air-mile exemption. 

Question 21: What is the carrier's liability when its drivers falsify records of duty 
status? 

Guidance: A carrier is liable both for the actions of its drivers in submitting false documents 
and for its own actions in accepting false documents. Motor carriers have a duty to require 
drivers to observe the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations (FMCSRs). 

Question 22: If a driver logs his/her duty status as "driving" but makes multiple short 
stops (each less than 15 minutes) for on-duty or off-duty activities, marks a vertical 
line on the grid for each stop, and records the elapsed time for each in the remarks 
section of the grid, would the aggregate time spent on those non-driving activities be 
counted against the 10-hour driving limit? 

Guidance: No. On-duty not driving time or off-duty time is not counted against the 10-hour 
driving limit. 

Question 23: When the driver's duty status changes, do §§395,8(c) or 395,8(h)(5) 
require a description of on-duty not driving activities ("fueling," "pre-trip," "loading," 
"unloading,", etc.) in the remarks section in addition to the name of the nearest city, 
town or village followed by the State abbreviation? 

Guidance: No. Many motor carriers require drivers to identify work performed during a / 
change of duty status. Part 395 neither requires nor prohibits this practice. / 

/ 
Question 24: When must a driver complete the signature/certification of the driver's 
record of duty status? 

Guidance: In general, the driver must sign the record of duty status immediately after all 
required entries have been made for the 24-hour period. However, if the driver is driving at 
the end of the24-hourperiod,he/shemustsign during the next stop. A driver may also sign 
the record of duty status upon going off duty if he/she expects to remain off duty until the 
end of the 24-hour period. 

Question 25: Is a driver (United States or foreign) required to maintain a record of 
duty status(iog book)in a foreign country before entering the U.S.? 

Guidance: No. The Federal Highway Administration FHWA does not require dhvers to 
prepare records of duty status while operating outside the jurisdiction of the United States. 
However, it may be advantageous for any driver (U.S. or foreign) to prepare records of duty 
status for short-term foreign trips. Upon entering the U.S., each driver must either: (a) Have 
in his/her possession a record of duty status current on the day of the examination showing 

5 of 8 5/6/2015 11:51 AM 
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When do 1 have to fill out logbooks? 1 Arnold Safety Blog : Arnold Sa... http://www.arnoldsafetyblog.com/when-do-i-have-to-fin-out-logbool 

or is it okay to only fill out a log sheet on the days I go past the air mile radius and the days 
1 stay with in the air mile radius just a daily load sheet with my hours and miles thank you 

61. Eric Arnold on October 6th, 2014 6:34 pm ti-^-ru^ /A.-^y2^-;^;; 
Good question. You only need to fill out the logbook on the days you do not meet the 
exception... ie, the ones where you go outside the 100 air mile circle, or work more than 12 
hours. On the days you meet the exception, you do not need to carry a logbook. Yes, this is 

ue. It is in Question 21 ofthe interpretations to 395,1.1 specify this because many drivers 
say, "no way!" Also, many drivers say "no way!" because there are more than a fair 
number of cops out there who continually get this rule wrong. It 's very frustrating when the 
cops don' t Icnow their own rules. Anyway, you need to log when you don' t meet the 
exception, and only on those days. 

62. Eric Arnold on October 6th, 2014 6:35 pm 

Good question. You only need to fill out the logbook on the days you do not meet the 
exception... ie, the ones where you go outside the 100 air mile circle, or work more than 12 
hours. On the days you meet the exception, you do not need to carry a logbook. Yes, this is 
true. It is in Question 21 ofthe interpretations to 395.1.1 specify this because many drivers 
say, "no way!" Also, many drivers say "no way!" because there are more than a fair 
number of cops out there who continually get this rule wrong. It 's very frustrating when the 
cops don' t know their own rules. Anyway, you need to log when you don' t meet the 
exception, and only on those days. 
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[I EXHierr 

100 Ai r Mile Radius Interpretations 

Question 12: What constitutes the 100-air-mile radius exemption? 

Guidance: The term "air mile" is internationally defined as a "nautical mile" which is 
equivalent to 6,076 feet or 1,852 meters. Thus, the 100 air miles are equivalent to 
115.08 statute miles or 185.2 kilometers. 

Question 13: What documentation must a driver claiming the 100-air- miie radius 
exemption [§395.1(e)] have in his/her possession? 

Guidance: None. 

n 14: Must a motor carrier retain 100-air-miIe driver time records at its principal 
place of business? 

Guidance: No. However, upon request by an authorized representative ofthe FHWA or 
State official, the records must be produced within a reasonable period of time (2 
working days) at the location where the review takes place. 

Question 15: May an operation that changes its normal work- reporting location on an 
intermittent basis utilize the 100-air-mile radius exemption? 

Guidance: Yes. However, when the motor carrier changes the normal reporting location 
to a new reporting location, that trip (from the old location to the new location) must be 
recorded on the record of duty status because the driver has not returned to his/her 
normal work reporting location. 

Question 16: May a driver use a record of duty status form as a time record to meet the 
requirement contained in the 100-air-mile radius exemption? 

Guidance: Yes, provided the form contains the mandatory information. 

Question 17: Is the "mandatory information" referred to in the previous guidance that 
required of a normal RODS under §395.8(d) or that of the 100-air-mile radius exemption 
under §395.1(e)(5)? 

Guidance: The "mandatory information" referred to is the time records specified by 
§395.1(e)(5) which must show: (1) The time the driver reports for duty each day; (2) the 
total number of hours the driver is on duty each day; (3) the time the driver is released 
from duty each day; and (4) trie-total time for Lho prcooding T-dciy^ In aucorO31*̂ 00 Wit^ 
§^95.6{i)[^) loi dllveis used I'Ot Mie Irrst time or intermittently. 

Using the RODS to comply with §395.1(e)(5) is not prohibited as long as the RODS 
contains driver identification, the date, the time the driver began work, the time the 
driver ended work, and the total hours on duty. 



Question 18: Must the driver's name and each date worked appear on the time record 
prepared to comply with §395.1 (e), 100-air-mile radius driver? 

Guidance: Yes. The driver's name or other identification and date worked must be 
shown on the time record. 

Question 19: May drivers who work split shifts take advantage of the 100-air-mile radius 
exemption found at §395.1 (e)? NOTE* Question #19 has not been updated to match 
with the regulations that became effective on Oct. 1 2005. 

Guidance: Yes. Drivers who work split shifts may take advantage of the 100-air-mile 
radius exemption if: 1. The drivers operate within a 100-air-mile radius of their normal 
work-reporting locations; 2. The drivers return to their work-reporting locations and are 
released from work at the end of each shift and each shift is less than 12 consecutive 
hours; 3. The drivers are off-duty for more than 8 consecutive hours before reporting for 
their first shift ofthe day and spend less than 12 hours, in the aggregate, on-duty each 
day; 4. The drivers do not exceed a total of 10 hours driving time and are afforded 8 or 
more consecutive hours off-duty prior to their first shift ofthe day; and 5. The employing 
motor carriers maintain and retain the time records required by 395.1(e)(5). 

Question 20: May a driver who is taking advantage of the 100-air- mile radius exemption 
in §395.1(e) be intermittently off-duty during the period away from the work-reporting 
location? 

Guidance: Yes, a driver may be intermittently off-duty during the period away from the 
work-reporting location provided the driver meets all requirements for being off-duty. If 
the driver's period away from the work-reporting location includes periods of off-duty 
time, the time record must show both total on-duty time and total off-duty time during 
his/her tour of duty. In any event, the driver must return to the work- reporting location 
and be released from work within 12 consecutive hours. 

Question 21: When a driver fails to meet the provisions of the 100- air-mile radius 
exemption (§395.1(e)), is the driver required to have copies of his/her records of duty 
status for the previous seven days? Must the driver prepare daily records of duty status 
for the next seven days? j ^ ̂ -y} f f ^ ' ^ T ^ ^ ^ / ^ ^ ^ g f ^ ^ Cf ̂  \ 

Guidance: The driver must only have in his/her possession a record of duty status for 
the day he/she does not qualify for the exemption. A driver must begin to prepare the 
record of duty status for the day immediately after he/she becomes aware that the terms 
of the exemption cannot be met. The record of duty status must cover the entire day, 
even if the driver has to record retroactively changes in status that occurred between 
the time that the driver reported for duty and the time in which he/she no longer qualified 
for the 100 air-mile radius exemption. This is the only way to ensure that a driver does 
not claim the right to drive 10 hours after leaving his/her exempt status, in addition to 
the hours already driven under the 100-air-mile exemption. 



Regulations Section / ^ K/ C—/ http://www.fTncsa.dot.gov/print/regulations/title49/section/395.: e^ i 
purposes of §§ 395.8 and 395.15, with remarks or annotations to indicate the specific 
off-duty periods that are waiting time, or on a separate "waiting time" line on the 
record of duty status to show that off-duty time is also waiting time. Waiting time shall 
not be included in calculating the 14-hour period in § 395.3(a)(2). Specially trained 
drivers of such commercial motor vehicles are not eligible to use the provisions of § 
395.1(e)(1). ^ € y i / > 7 ; « / ^ ^ e ^ (̂  / / 2^ -^KV3 

(e) StfCff-haul operafiaQS —(1) 100 air-mile radius driver. A driver is exempt from 
the re5uirements''of§395.8 if; 

(i) The driver operates within a 100 air-mile radius ofthe normal work reporting 
location; 

(ii) The driver, except a driver-salesperson, returns to the work reporting location and 
is released from work within 12 consecutive hours; 

(iii)(A) A property-carrying commercial motor vehicle driver has at least 10 
consecutive hours off duty separating each 12 hours on duty; 

^BtA-fiODCongor oarrying commorcial motor vehicle driver haro dl Ibjjst b consectlttve 
hoiir̂ .̂ nffduty s-ppariiliiij ' M i P ll̂ '-lim "n'Inly. ' 

(iv)(A) A property-carrying commercial motor vehicle driver does not exceed the 
maximum driving time specified in § 395.3(a)(3) following 10 consecutive hours off 
duty; or 

(B)-A-paS?^nger- f "^ ' " '^^ '^0 nnn-^pn^rnial m n t n r \fnhirlfr. 4<4w=rr-rtr?Ag nnt AYP-PPH 10 hOUrS 

-maximum driving time lollowing 8 consecutive houro off duty; and-s. 

(v) The motor carrier that employs the driver maintains and retains for a period of 6 
months accurate and true time records showing: 

EXHIBIT 

(A) The time the driver reports for duty each day; 

(B) The total number of hours the driver is on duty each day; 

(C) The time the driver is released from duty each day; and 

(D) Tl^^>totHQtinC^n5^2li^5*f^'^^ 
4(sed-furtlTeTrrst time or interrnRferrtly OAJ l^ ' i I ^ F^i^S ^ T J ^ ^ 

(2lOperators of property-carrying commercial motor vehicles not requfpirfga 
corfrmecQial driver's iicense. Except as provided in this paragra£tu.,-a-<trfver is 
exempt frorrPfF^5T=ecgjire'̂ ®"̂ s of § 395.3(a)(2) and § 395,S-an^1neligible to use the 
provisions of § 395.1 (eKT7r(§)T-and(o) if: 

(i) The driver operates a properiy-eaifying coTnTne^^ciaimotor vehicle for which a 
commercial driver'sJjeensgTs not required under part sSS'trf^big^subchapter, 

(ii) ThedfT^r operates within a 150 air-mile radius ofthe location where the driver 
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