


DRIVER/VEHICLE EXAMINATION REPORT

Report Number: OH3203300600

1/27/2020Inspection Date:

Time Started: 13:3212:10 Time Ended:

Inspection Level:

Public Utilities Commission of Ohio

180 East Broad Street

Transportation Department

Columbus, OH  43215

Phone # : (614)466-0429        Fax #: (614)752-9274

Certification Date: 02/11/2020

No HM Inspection

I - Full Inspection

HM Inspection Type:

Driver:

OHState:License #:

Date of Birth:

BAKER EQUIPMENT AND MATERIALS LTD

PO BOX 526

MONROE, OH  45050

Phone #: (513)422-0680

Fax #:

USDOT #: 

MC/MX #:

State #:

00649901

00181811

LITTLEJOHN, JAMES A

RT163583

10/30/1976

Locally Defined Fields:

For-Hire Carrier: Y;Fatalities (Y/N): N;Driver Address: 1415 BERNICE ST ;Driver City: MIDDLETOWN;Driver State: OH;Driver Zip: 45044;Photos 

Taken (Y/N): Y;Reason Code: USSP;FMCSA Credentials Verified-Y/N: Y;CDL Verified (Y/N): Y;FMCSA OOS Order Issued(Y/N): Y;Driver Address 

Verified (Y/N): Y;ISS Score: 41

* Pursuant to authority contained in Title 49, Code of Federal Regulations, Section 396.9, I hereby declare vehicles with defects followed by an "Y" in the 

"Out of Service" column in the violations discovered section of this report OUT OF SERVICE .  No person shall remove the out of service stickers applied to 

these vehicles, or operate such vehicles until the out of service defects have been repaired and the vehicles have been restored to safe operating 

condition.

All violations of the FHMR and FMCSR or Title 49 of the Ohio Revised Code will be reviewed by the PUCO's Transportation Department to determine 

whether civil forfeitures should be assessed against any responsible parties in accordance with the penalty provisions of Title 49 of the Ohio Revised Code. 

If civil forfeitures are assessed, you will receive a separate notice by mail. These penalties may be assessed to motor carriers, shippers, and/or drivers. 

ATTENTION MOTOR CARRIER: The motor carrier must examine this report and repair all the vehicle defects/violations noted above -AND- The motor 

carrier must sign the Certification of Repairs below and return the signed form to: Public Utilities Commission of Ohio, TASD - 4th floor, 180 E Broad St, 

Columbus, OH 43215-3793 -OR- Fax (614) 752-9274 within 15 days of the inspection. If " No Violations Were Discovered" then you do not need to return 

his report. Failure to return this report with the required certification can result in penal ies up to $1,000 per day for each day the violation continues, up to 

a total of $10,000. If you have any questions, please contact (614) 466-0429.

Signature of Carrier Official: X Date:

Note to carrier this section applies to self adjusting brake. 

Advisory: This vehicle has been identified to have brake adjustment violations.  49CFR Section 393.53 requires that a self-adjusting brake system be 

equipped on this vehicle.  A qualified service technician needs to determine why the defective brake has excessive stroke and make the appropriate 

repairs.  Simply re-adjusting a self-adjusting brake adjuster, or replacing it, does not guarantee that the problem is corrected.  The problem may exist in the 

foundation brake system.  By certifying this inspection report you have indicated that his vehicle now has a properly functioning self-adjusting brake 

adjustment system.

ATTENTION DRIVER: This report must be sent to the motor carrier whose name appears at the top of this inspection report within 24 hours.  If the 

inspection report cannot be delivered within 24 hours the driver must mail or fax the inspection report to the motor carrier.

                                                                         ******    POSSIBLE CDL DISQUALIFICATION   ******

If this roadside inspection identified an alleged violation of one or more of the below noted regulations, your CDL may be disqualified.  If the PUCO finds 

you committed a violation of any of these regulations, the violation will be treated as a conviction for the purposes of federal and state law and notice of 

such conviction will be forwarded to the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV).  The BMV may disqualify you from operating a commercial motor vehicle for 

a minimum of 60 days.  Any BMV sanction is in addition to sanctions imposed by the Public Utilities Commission of Ohio (PUCO).

177.804(b)(1), 177.804(b)(2), 177 804(b)(3), 177.804(c), 4901:2-5-07D, 383.23(a)(2), 383.51(a), 383.51A-NSIN, 383.51A-NSOUT, 383.51A-SIN, 

383.51A-SOUT, 383.91(a), 383.93(b)(1), 383.93(b)(2), 383.93(b)(3), 383.93(b)(4), 383.93(b)(5), 391.15(a), 391.15A-NSIN, 391.15A-NSOUT, 391.15A-SIN, 

391.15A-SOUT, 392.10(a)(1), 392.10(a)(2), 392.10(a)(3), 392.10(a)(4), 392. 11, 392.12, 392.4(a), 392.5(a)(2), 392.5A2-UI, 392.5(c)(2), 392.80(a), 392.82(a)

(1), 395.13(d), 396.9(c)(2).

MOTOR CARRIER CERTIFICATION OF COMPLETED REPAIRS: The undersigned certifies that all violations noted on this report have been corrected 

and action taken to assure compliance with the Federal Motor Carrier Safety & Hazardous Materials Regulations insofar as they are applicable to motor 

carriers and drivers. A false certification of repairs is required to be prosecuted with penalties up to $10,000.

Date:Facility:XSignature of Repairer:

Report Prepared By: Copy Received By:Badge #:

3203

X X

A Lockhart
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Sam Randazzo, Chairman

180 East Broad Street (614) 466-3016
Columbus, Ohio 43215-3793 www.PUCO.ohio.gov

*AA*

Commissioners

M. Beth Trombold
Lawrence K. Friedeman

Dennis P. Deters
Daniel R. Conway

March 18, 2020

BAKER EQUIPMENT AND MATERIALS LTD; Attn: Rob Woods
PO BOX 526
MONROE, OH 45050

RE: NOTICE OF PRELIMINARY DETERMINATION
Case No. OH3203300600C

Dear Sir or Madam:

On 01/27/2020, a vehicle operated by BAKER EQUIPMENT AND MATERIALS LTD, and driven by, 
LITTLEJOHN, JAMES A was inspected within the state of Ohio.  As a result of discovery of the following 
violation(s) of the Commission’s rules, Staff of the Commission timely notified BAKER EQUIPMENT & 
MATERIALS LTD pursuant to rule 4901:2-7-07, Ohio Administrative Code (OAC), that it intended to 
assess a civil forfeiture against BAKER EQUIPMENT & MATERIALS LTD in the following amount:

CODE GROUP VIOLATION FORFEITURE

393.53B Group 0 CMV manufactured after 10/19/94 has an automatic airbrake 
adjustment system that fails to compensate for wear

$ 0.00

396.3A
1BOS

Group 1 BRAKES OUT OF SERVICE: The number of defective brakes is 
equal to or greater than 20 percent of the service brakes on the 
vehicle or combination

$ 0.00

393.75
A3

Group 2 Tire-flat and/or audible air leak $ 0.00

393.47E Group 0 Clamp or Roto type brake out-of-adjustment $ 0.00

393.53B Group 0 CMV manufactured after 10/19/94 has an automatic airbrake 
adjustment system that fails to compensate for wear

$ 0.00

393.47E Group 0 Clamp or Roto type brake out-of-adjustment $ 0.00

Group 1 Group 1 Violations $ 100.00

Group 2 Group 2 Violations $ 50.00

Original Amount Due: $150.00

STAFF EXHIBIT 2



*AA*

A conference was conducted pursuant to Rule 4901:2-10, OAC, at which BAKER EQUIPMENT & 
MATERIALS LTD had a full opportunity to present reasons why the violation(s) did not occur as alleged, 
mitigating circumstances regarding the amount of any forfeiture, and any other information relevant to 
the action proposed to be taken by the Staff.

As a result of the conference, staff has made a preliminary determination that the commission should 
assess a civil forfeiture against BAKER EQUIPMENT & MATERIALS LTD in the following amount:

CODE GROUP VIOLATION FORFEITURE

393.53B Group 0 CMV manufactured after 10/19/94 has an automatic airbrake 
adjustment system that fails to compensate for wear

$ 0.00

396.3A
1BOS

Group 1 BRAKES OUT OF SERVICE: The number of defective brakes is 
equal to or greater than 20 percent of the service brakes on the 
vehicle or combination

$ 0.00

393.75
A3

Group 2 Tire-flat and/or audible air leak $ 0.00

393.47E Group 0 Clamp or Roto type brake out-of-adjustment $ 0.00

393.53B Group 0 CMV manufactured after 10/19/94 has an automatic airbrake 
adjustment system that fails to compensate for wear

$ 0.00

393.47E Group 0 Clamp or Roto type brake out-of-adjustment $ 0.00

Group 1 Group 1 Violations $ 100.00

Group 2 Group 2 Violations $ 50.00

New Amount Due: $150.00

Within 30 days of this notice you must either; 1) pay the assessed civil forfeiture or, 2) submit a 
written Request for an Administrative Hearing.

Failure to comply with either option above shall constitute a waiver of your right to further contest the 
violation(s) and will conclusively establish the occurrence of the violation(s).  Such failure shall also 
constitute a waiver of your right to further contest liability to the State of Ohio for the civil forfeiture 
described in the notice and will result in the forfeiture amount being referred to the Ohio Attorney 
General’s Office for collection.  In addition, your Ohio operating authority and/or commercial driving 
privileges may be sanctioned as permitted by law.



*AA*

Please consult the enclosed instruction sheet for additional information regarding this “Notice of 
Preliminary Determination.”

Sincerely, 

John D. Williams, Director
Transportation Department

cc: Cheryl Streets



*AA*

INSTRUCTION SHEET
NOTICE OF PRELIMINARY DETERMINATION

Please read these instruction sheets carefully.  They contain information about your rights and responsibilities in regard to this “Notice of 
Preliminary Determination.”

You have received a “Notice of Preliminary Determination” as described in 4901:2-7-12, Ohio Administrative Code (OAC).  Within 30 days of this notice 
you must either; 1) pay the assessed civil forfeiture or, 2) submit a written Request for an Administrative Hearing.  If you do not pay the forfeiture 
or request a hearing within 30 days of this notice, your case will be placed in our default process.  Additionally, your Ohio operating authority 
and/or your commercial driving privileges may be sanctioned as permitted by law.

How to pay the forfeiture 
Online https://www.puco.ohio.gov/sc/mcos/

Enter the case number and PIN located on 
the enclosed invoice.

Mail Public Utilities Commission of Ohio
Attn:  Fiscal Section
180 E. Broad Street, 4th Floor
Columbus, Ohio 43215-3793

Send check/money order (no foreign checks/money orders) made payable 
to “Public Utilities Commission of Ohio”.  To ensure proper credit, write 
the case number on the face of the check or money order.

* Payments cannot be completed by telephone

How to make a Request for an Administrative Hearing
If you wish to further contest the violations described in this notice, you should file a “Request for an Administrative Hearing” with the Commission’s 
Docketing Division as described in Rule 4901:2-7-13, OAC.

Your “Request for an Administrative Hearing” must be in writing and must contain the case number found at the top of the “Notice of Preliminary 
Determination.”  Also, please include the contact name, address, and telephone number of the person to whom further communications should be 
directed.  The request shall be signed by the Respondent or the Respondent’s authorized representative.  A copy of the “Notice of Preliminary 
Determination” must be attached to your request.

Your “Request for an Administrative Hearing” must be mailed or hand-delivered within 30 days of this notice to the following address:

Public Utilities Commission of Ohio
ATTN:  Docketing Division
180 E. Broad Street, 11th Floor
Columbus, Ohio 43215-3793

Failure to submit a Request for Administrative Hearing
If you do not serve a timely “Request for an Administrative Hearing” in the manner described above, you will forfeit your right to further contest the 
violations described in this notice and the occurrence of the violations will be conclusively established.  Such failure shall also constitute a waiver of 
your right to further contest liability to the state of Ohio for the civil forfeiture described in this notice and will result in the forfeiture amount being 
referred to the Ohio Attorney General’s Office for collection. Also, your Ohio operating authority and/or your commercial driving privileges may be 
sanctioned as permitted by law.

Codes, Violation Groups, and Forfeiture Amounts
“Code” in this notice identifies the rule violated.  Numbers in a 100 or 300 series refer to specific sections of the Hazardous Materials Regulations or the 
Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations located in Title 49 of the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR).  Some section numbers may have suffixes beyond 
those appearing in the CFR.  These are used for internal data collections purposes.  Codes in other formats refer to violations of Ohio’s statutes or 
regulations.  

“Violations Group” identifies the assigned numerical group (1-4) for the violation for purposes of calculating the civil forfeiture.  Section 4923.99, Ohio 
Revised Code (ORC) authorizes the Public Utilities Commission of Ohio to assess civil forfeiture up to $25,000 for each day of each violation.  The 
amount of any forfeiture is dependent upon the nature, gravity, circumstances, and extent of the violation, the offender’s degree of culpability for the 
violation, and the offender’s violation history.  “Total Amount Due” is the total amount of the civil forfeiture assessed for all violations described in this 
notice.



*AA*

ATTENTION DRIVER
Potential Disqualification

If the roadside inspection leading to this letter identified an alleged violation of one or more of the below noted regulations, your CDL 
may be disqualified.  If you are convicted of violating any of these regulations, notice of the conviction will be forwarded to the Ohio 
Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV).  The BMV may disqualify you from operating a commercial motor vehicle for a minimum of 60 days.  
Any BMV sanction is in addition to sanctions imposed by the Public Utilities Commission of Ohio (PUCO).

177.804B1 177.804(b)(1) Failure to comply with 49 CFR Section 392.12 Complying With Safe Clearance Requirements For 
Highway-Rail Grade Crossings.

177.804B2 177.804(b)(2) Failure to comply with 49 CFR Section 392.80 Texting While Operating a CMV When Transporting 
Select Agents or Toxins or HM Requiring Placarding.

177.804B3 177.804(b)(3) Failure to comply with 49 CFR Section 392.82 Using a Cell Phone While Operating a CMV When 
Transporting Select Agents or Toxins or HM Requiring Placarding.

177.804C 177.804(c) Failure to comply with 49 CFR Section 392.82 Using a Handheld Mobile Phone While Operating a CMV 
When Transporting Select Agents or Toxins or HM Requiring Placard.

2-5-07D 392.2 Operating a CMV after Driver or Vehicle declared out of service.
383.23A2 383.23(a)(2) Operating a CMV without a CDL.
383.51A 383.51(a) Driving a CMV while disqualified from holding a CDL.
383.51A-NSIN 383.51(a) Driving a CMV while CDL is suspended for a non-safety-related reason and in the state of driver's 

license issuance.
383.51A-NSOUT 383.51(a) Driving a CMV while CDL is suspended for a non-safety-related reason and outside the state of 

driver's license issuance.
383.51A-SIN 383.51(a) Driving a CMV while CDL is suspended for a safety-related or unknown reason and in state of driver's 

license issuance.
383.51A-SOUT 383.51(a) Driving a CMV while CDL is suspended for safety-related or unknown reason and outside the state of 

driver's license issuance.
383.91A 383.91(a) Operating a CMV with improper CDL group.
383.93B1 383.93(b)(1) No double or triple trailer endorsement on CDL when required.
383.93B2 383.93(b)(2) No passenger vehicle endorsement on CDL when required.
383.93B3 383.93(b)(3) No tank vehicle endorsement on CDL when required.
383.93B4 383.93(b)(4) No hazardous materials endorsement on CDL when required.
383.93B5 383.93(b)(5) Operating a School Bus without a school bus endorsement as described in 383.93(b)(5).
391.15A 391.15(a) Driving a CMV while disqualified.
391.15A-NSIN 391.15(a) Driving a CMV while disqualified. Suspended for non-safety-related reason and in the state of driver's 

license issuance.
391.15A-NSOUT 391.15(a) Driving a CMV while disqualified. Suspended for a non-safety-related reason and outside the state of 

driver's license issuance.
391.15A-SIN 391.15(a) Driving a CMV while disqualified. Suspended for safety-related or unknown reason and in the state of 

drivers license issuance.
391.15A-SOUT 391.15(a) Driving a CMV while disqualified. Suspended for a safety-related or unknown reason and outside the 

driver's license state of issuance.
392.10A1 392.10(a)(1) Failure to stop at railroad crossing - Bus transporting passengers.
392.10A2 392.10(a)(2) Failure to stop at railroad crossing - CMV transporting Division 2.3 Chlorine.
392.10A3 392.10(a)(3) Failure to stop at railroad crossing - CMV requiring display of HM placards.
392.10A4 392.10(a)(4) Failure to stop at railroad crossing - HM Cargo Tank vehicle.
392.11 392.11 Commercial Vehicle failing to slow down approaching a railroad crossing.
392.12 392.12 No Driver of a Commercial Motor Vehicle Shall Drive Onto a Highway-Rail Grade Crossing Without 

Having Sufficient Space to Drive Completely Through the Crossing Without Stopping.
392.4A 392.4(a) Driver on duty and under the influence of, or using a narcotic drug / amphetamine, which renders the 

driver incapable of safe operation.
392.5A2-UI 392.5(a)(2) Operating a CMV while under the influence of an intoxicating beverage regardless of its alcohol 

content.
392.5C2 392.5(c)(2) Violating OOS order pursuant to 392.5(a)/(b) - Alcohol prohibitions.
392.80A 392.80(a) Driving a commercial motor vehicle while Texting.
392.82A1 392.82(a)(1) Using a hand-held mobile telephone while operating a CMV.
395.13D 395.13(d) Driving after being declared out-of-service for HOS violation(s).
396.9C2 396.9(c)(2) Operating an out-of-service vehicle.

Federal regulations define “conviction” as, “An un-vacated adjudication of guilt, or a determination that a person has violated or failed to comply with the law in a court of 
original jurisdiction or by an authorized administrative tribunal, an un-vacated forfeiture of bail or collateral deposited to secure the person’s appearance in court, a plea 
of guilty or nolo contendere accepted by the court, the payment of a fine or court cost, or violation of a condition of release without bail, regardless of whether or not the 
penalty is rebated, suspended, or probated.  











This foregoing document was electronically filed with the Public Utilities 

Commission of Ohio Docketing Information System on 

7/14/2021 10:04:36 AM

in

Case No(s). 20-0805-TR-CVF

Summary: Exhibit Staff Exhibits 1-3.  Hearing held on 06/29/21 electronically filed by Mr. Ken
Spencer on behalf of Armstrong & Okey, Inc. and Grubaugh, Valerie




