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INTRODUCTION 
 

Ohio is recognized nationally for having strong consumer protections in its 

statutes and regulations.  The rules in Ohio Administrative Code Chapters 4901:1-17 

and 4901:1-18 are the core of these protections.  The provisions of Chapter 4901:1-17 

include a just and reasonable approach for the establishment of credit for utility service.  

The rules include provision for a guarantor, to ensure that customers of limited ability 

can be provided with the support necessary to remain connected to utility service.  

There are affirmative duties placed on the utility to ensure that customers are made 

aware of credit requirements, and the availability of the Percentage Income Payment 

Plan Plus (PIPP Plus) and other assistance.  The method of calculating deposits is 

transparent, and customers may challenge that calculation. 

Chapter 4901:1-18 covers disconnection procedures, payment plan options, and 

PIPP Plus.  Ohio Partners for Affordable Energy (OPAE) observes that new 

technologies that no longer require utilities to send field technicians to a residence to 

disconnect customers are beginning to have an impact on notice requirements.  The 

Commission has issued waivers which deny customers the consumer protections 

embedded in this Chapter.  This rulemaking offers the opportunity to firm up these 

protections so abbreviated technological messaging does not replace notice that makes 

customers aware of their rights to challenge the bill, utilize alternative payment plans, or 

utilize benefits available to continue essential utility service. 

This Chapter also includes the natural gas PIPP Plus rules.  OPAE believes 

these rules have veered from their original intent.  PIPP Plus was designed to improve 

the affordability of utility service.  The average family taking utility service in Ohio has an  
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energy burden – the percentage of family income spent on utility service – of 3.0 

percent.  https://www.energy.gov/eere/slsc/maps/lead-tool.  By comparison, the low 

income household with an income under 100 percent of the Federal Poverty Line (FPL) 

has an average energy burden of 17 percent.  Families with incomes between 100 and 

150 percent of FPL have an energy burden of 8 percent, and those with incomes 

between 150-200 percent FPL have burdens of just over 5 percent.  Ibid.  PIPP+ 

customers are required to pay 10 percent (if all electric) or 12 percent of their income for 

regulated utility service, or roughly 263 – 447 percent of an average median income 

family. 

Eligibility for PIPP Plus is set at 150 percent of the federal poverty line, but most 

customers participating in the Program have incomes of less than 90 percent of the 

federal poverty line There are obvious conclusions that can be drawn from this 

information:  1) PIPP Plus customers are the poorest of the poor; 2) PIPP Plus is only 

beneficial to customers with an energy burden of greater than 10 or 12 percent of the 

family budget; and, 3) PIPP Plus customers live in the most energy inefficient housing.  

Public data sources make clear that low income customers generally use less electricity 

and natural gas than families of average income.  For many income-eligible families, 

low usage and currently low natural gas prices allow them to afford their utility bills.  The 

Home Energy Assistance Program (HEAP), PIPP Plus, and the weatherization 

programs address the needs of households that are high users or low on the income 

scale.  

The purposes of PIPP Plus are to improve affordability and help ensure families 

remain connected to essential energy services.  The percentage of income required is 

https://www.energy.gov/eere/slsc/maps/lead-tool
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very high compared to average energy burden for median income or many low income 

customers.  We must acknowledge the reality that many PIPP Plus customers will fail to 

make every payment. 

OPAE’s recommendation is to apply standard disconnection rules to PIPP Plus 

customers.  If the customer fails to make payments for an extended period of time, they 

will be subject to disconnection.  In order to be reconnected the customer should have 

to make up the payments missed prior to disconnection.  If the customer is not 

disconnected, the missed payments and accompanying arrearages should be folded 

into the arrearages subject to crediting annually.  This will allow customers to remain 

connected, remain on PIPP Plus, and continue to make payments. 

The following are OPAE’s specific comments on the rules.  We have included a 

Section IV to provides comments specific to the disconnection rules contained in 

Chapter 4901:1-18.  OPAE’s recommendations are in blue, while Staff proposed 

changes are in red.  Failure to comment on any proposed change should not be 

interpreted as support for or opposition to the revision. 

 

Section I – Comments on PIPP Plus Rules Contained in Ohio Adm.Code Chapters 
4901:1-18 and 122:5-3. 

 
ORC 4901:1-01 and 122:5-3-01 – Definitions 
 

OPAE recommends the Public Utilities Commission of Ohio (PUCO) rules utilize 

the definition of “[f]ormer percentage of income payment plan customers” from the Ohio 

Development Services Agency (ODSA) rules.  The ODSA definition is clearer.  In fact, 

all the definitions should be made consistent.  Alternate versions only complicate the 

rules for customers, and for agency staff that work with the rules daily. 



5 
 

OPAE also recommends a revision to the phrase “PIPP Plus anniversary date” 

as follows: 

(NN) "PIPP Plus anniversary date" means the calendar date by which the PIPP plus 
customer must be current on his/her income-based PIPP plus payments to continue 
participation in PIPP plus for the subsequent twelve months.  It is also the date by which the 
PIPP plus customer's arrearage credit amount will be reviewed and may be 
recalculated. The PIPP plus anniversary date shall be at or about twelve months from 
when the customer is enrolled in PIPP plus. 
 

This change makes the definition consistent with not requiring all missed PIPP 

Plus payments to be made up prior to re-enrolling.  The PUCO rules should also use 

this definition. 

The phrase “PIPP Plus reverification date” should be modified to read as follows 
in  

 
both sets of rules: 

"PIPP plus reverification date" means the calendar date by which the PIPP plus 
customer must document his or her household income and household size to continue 
participation in the PIPP plus program or participate in the graduate PIPP plus program.  
The reverification date shall be every twelve months from when the customers last 
reverified as determined by the Ohio Development Services Agency. 

 There is little point in having both an anniversary date and a reverification date.  

However, PIPP Plus enrollments ebb and flow during the year.  For management 

purposes, however, ODSA should have the discretion to set a date for reverification 

that allows for better management of the program. 

 

ORC 4901:1-18-12 and 122:5-3-02 

 The approaches to determining eligibility for natural gas and electric PIPP Plus 

should be the same.  ODSA uses 30 days of income annualized to determine eligibility, 

with an option to look at the annual income if the 30-day income exceeds eligibility 

requirements.  The PUCO rules should be modified to use the same standard.  This will 
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simplify administration of the program by using a consistent measure rather than 

requiring intake personnel to do the income calculation twice, which could lead to the 

anomalous situation of having someone qualify for electric PIPP Plus but not gas PIPP 

Plus. 

 OPAE opposes continuing the requirement that participants in PIPP Plus be 

required to make up all missed payments by the anniversary date.  The ODSA rules do 

make changes in this area, recognizing that curing all missed payments is unreasonable 

for the customers on PIPP Plus.  OPAE supports and its members encourage and work 

with clients to ensure they make all payments.  However, given the trials of poverty that 

PIPP Plus clients confront every day, there is a more reasonable approach.  Following 

are OPAE recommendations for modification to the PUCO rules.  After these 

comments, we offer minor edits to the modifications proposed by ODSA, with which we 

generally agree. 

(A) In addition to the requirements set forth in paragraphs (B) and (C) of this rule, a 
PIPP plus customer must also periodically reverify his/her eligibility. 
All PIPP plus customers must provide proof of eligibility to the Ohio development 
service agency of the household income at least once every twelve months at or 
about the customer's PIPP plus reverification date. The customer shall be 
accorded a grace period of sixty days after the customer's PIPP plus 
reverification date to reverify eligibility. 

(1) Except as provided in this paragraph, the PIPP plus customer must be current 
on his/her income-based PIPP plus payments at the customer's PIPP plus 
anniversary date to be eligible to remain on PIPP plus for the subsequent twelve 
months. The customer will have one billing cycle after the PIPP plus anniversary 
date to pay any missed PIPP plus payments before being removed from the 
program. Missed PIPP plus payments include: 

(a) Any delayed payments as a result of the customer's prior use of a medical 
certificate in accordance with paragraph (C) of rule 4901:1-18-06 of the 
Administrative Code. 

(b) Any missed payments, including PIPP plus payments which would have been 
due for the months the customer is disconnected from gas utility service. The 
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amount due shall not exceed the amount of the customer's arrearage and shall 
be paid prior to the restoration of utility service. 

(2) PIPP plus customers who have been dropped from the PIPP plus programs 
disconnected due to nonpayment or not meeting the terms of the program (e.g. 
failure to reverify or to bring account current at the anniversary date) and who 
were are otherwise eligible for PIPP plus, may re-enroll in the program after 
making all PIPP plus payments which would have been due for the months the 
customer is disconnected from gas utility service. After all missed PIPP plus 
payments, and monthly charges for any months the customer was not enrolled 
in the program but maintained service (less any payments made by the 
customer) have been cured.  This includes PIPP plus payments for any months 
in which the customer maintained service or was disconnected. The dropped 
PIPP plus customer is not eligible for any incentives or credits in accordance 
with rule 4901:1-18-14 of the Administrative Code for payments made pursuant 
to this provision. The amount due shall not exceed the amount of the customer's 
arrearage.  Customers who are dropped from the program for failure to reverify 
may reenroll in the program by establishing income eligibility for the program. 
This rule is not intended and should not be interpreted to prevent any customer 
from taking advantage of any commission rule or order otherwise available to 
the customer to maintain or reconnect electric service by paying less than the 
delinquent amounts and reconnect charges. 

OPAE suggests the follow changes to the ODSA-proposed version of 122:5-3-

02(H): 

(A) Eligibility following account default or disconnection by a utility. 
 
(1) Account default. 
 
(a) If a PIPP plus customer fails to pay monthly PIPP plus installment amounts and 
such non- payment causes the customer's electric service to be subject to 
disconnection by a utility for non- payment or actually disconnected by a utility for 
non-payment, it shall be the responsibility of the PIPP plus customer to avoid 
disconnection by paying the minimum amount as provided by the commission in 
paragraph (B) of rule 4901:1-18-05 of the Administrative Code (or any successor 
rule of substantially the same effect) or to have service reconnected as provided by the 
commission in rule 4901:1-18-07 of the Administrative Code (or any successor rule 
of substantially the same effect), except that for purposes of this rule, the minimum 
amount to avoid disconnection or to reconnect will not include accrued arrearages 
on the PIPP plus customer's account prior to non-payment of monthly PIPP plus 
installment amounts. None of the delinquent amounts, including any past due 
monthly PIPP plus installment amounts and other charges commission rules permit 
the utility to collect from a customer to avoid disconnection or to reconnect electric 
service (but not including accrued arrearages prior to the non-payment of monthly 
PIPP plus installment amounts), shall be charged to or paid from the fund. A 
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customer will cease to be an active PIPP plus customer if a utility disconnects electric 
service to such PIPP plus customer for non-payment and electric service remains 
disconnected through the end of, that billing cycle and the utility shall report such 
customer as an inactive customer. A PIPP plus customer who has ceased to be an 
active PIPP plus customer as a result of disconnection for disconnection due to non-
payment or voluntarily leaving the PIPP plus program shall be ineligible to participate 
in the PIPP plus program until such customer pays any delinquent amounts through 
the date the office of community assistance identifies the customer for removal as 
an active PIPP plus customer, including any past due monthly PIPP plus installment 
amounts. the installment amount for those months that they were not enrolled in the 
PIPP plus program, including payments for any months in which the customer was 
disconnected (not to exceed the account balance), and other charges commission 
rules permit the utility to impose to reconnect service as provided in rule 4901:1-18-
07 of the Administrative Code (or any successor rule of substantially the same effect). 
The requirement in this rule for a customer to pay delinquent amounts and reconnect 
charges, past due monthly PIPP plus installment amounts owed while the customer 
was active on PIPP plus and is a condition of re-enroll in the PIPP plus program. 
This rule is not intended and should not be interpreted to prevent any customer from 
taking advantage of any commission rule or order otherwise available to the 
customer to maintain or reconnect electric service by paying less than the delinquent 
amounts and reconnect charges. 

 
 

(b)  To be eligible to continue in the PIPP plus program for the subsequent twelve 
months, the PIPP plus customer my be current on his/her PIPP plus installment on 
his/her anniversary date. 
  
(i) If the customer is not current on his/her anniversary date, the electric distribution 
utility will issue a notice on the customer’s bill, and the customer will have on billing 
cycle after the date of the notice to pay past due monthly PIPP plus installment 
amounts. If such amounts are not timely paid, the electric distribution utility will drop 
the customer from the PIPP plus program, and such customer will cease to be an 
active PIPP plus customer recalculate the customer’s arrearages by including the 
total of the missed payment during the prior year; 
 
(i) The utility shall reinstate the PIPP plus customer into PIPP plus when the PIPP 
plus customer pays all past due monthly PIPP plus missed installment amounts 
owed while the customer was active on PIPP plus. s and current monthly charges for 
those months when the PIPP plus customer was not enrolled in the program, less 
any payments the customer has made (up to the account arrearage). The utility shall 
provide notice to the office of community assistance of both the drop and the 
reinstatement through the nightly confirmation files. 
 
(c) A PIPP customer who is income eligible, voluntarily leaves PIPP plus, and within 
twelve months re-enrolls in PIPP plus, must pay the difference between the PIPP plus 
installments for the months the customer received service but was not on the 
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program, less payments made by the customer during the same time period up to 
the amount of the customer's arrearage. 
 
(d) A PIPP plus customer who is income eligible, voluntarily leaves PIPP plus, and 
then re-enrolls in PIPP plus after twelve months and has no accrued arrearage, is 
required to pay only his/her first PIPP plus payment upon re-enrollment. If the 
customer re-enrolls in PIPP plus after twelve months and has an accrued arrearage, 
the customer is required to pay the missed PIPP plus payments for the number of 
months that he/she was not enrolled in PIPP plus, less any payments made by the 
customer up to the amount of the customer's arrearages, in addition to his/her first 
PIPP plus payment. 

 
(B) Continuing eligibility. 
 
(1) Annual verification of income eligibility. Income eligibility will be subject to annual 
verification at or about twelve months from the PIPP plus customer's most recent 
PIPP plus re-verification date. The director will use reasonable efforts to notify PIPP 
plus customers in advance of annual verification deadlines. PIPP plus customers will 
be required to submit then-current application information to the office of community 
assistance or a local agency. The director shall use such application information to 
determine continuing income eligibility. Local agencies and electric distribution 
utilities will cooperate with the director to facilitate the income verification process. If 
a PIPP plus customer fails to submit information sufficient to verify continuing eligibility 
within sixty days after the customer's annual verification date, the customer will be 
ineligible to continue in the PIPP plus program, and the office of community 
assistance will send the affected utility by electronic data transfer a drop file to 
remove such customer as an active PIPP plus customer.  PIPP plus customers who 
have been dropped from the PIPP plus program for not meeting the terms of the 
program, including failure to re-verify their income, may re-enroll in the program after 
all missed PIPP plus installments have been cured and monthly charges for any 
months the customer was not enrolled in the program but maintained services (less 
any payments made by the customer) have been paid. This includes PIPP plus 
payments for any months that the customer was disconnected. The amount due shall 
not exceed the amount of the customer's arrearage. 

Section 122:5-3-04 

 OPAE contends that funds that are provided monthly outside of HEAP or 

emergency HEAP should be first applied to current bills by modifying Subsection 3 as 

follows: 

(2) Money other than HEAP, or emergency HEAP, or money provided on a monthly 
basis by a public or private agency for the purpose of paying utility bills shall first be 
applied to the customer's defaulted current monthly payment obligation (this could be 
PIPP plus default, graduate PIPP plus default, or extended payment plan default), if any, 
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then applied to the customer's current monthly income-based payment obligation (this 
could be PIPP plus installment, graduate PIPP plus installment, or extended payment 
plan obligation), and lastly, shall be applied to the customer's arrearages.  Money 
provided on a monthly basis by a public or private agency for the purpose of paying 
utility bills shall be applied to the customer’s current monthly income-based payment 
obligation, then to the customer’s defaulted payment obligation, and lastly, if any, shall 
be applied to the customer’s arrearages. 
 
4901:1-18-15 
 
 OPAE suggests changes to this Section consistent with its overall 

recommendations to reduce barriers to customers remaining on PIPP Plus: 

(E) A PIPP plus customer who voluntarily leaves PIPP plus and who was otherwise 
eligible for PIPP plus, and then within twelve months re-enrolls in PIPP plus must pay 
the PIPP plus payments due for the months the customer received service but was not 
on the program, less payment made by the customer during the same time period. 

(F) A PIPP plus customer who voluntarily leaves PIPP plus with no outstanding 
arrearages and who was otherwise eligible for PIPP plus, and then re-joins PIPP plus 
after twelve months, the customer would be required to pay his or her first PIPP plus 
payment. If the customer re-joins PIPP plus after twelve months and has an 
outstanding arrearages at the time he/she left the PIPP plus program, the customer 
would be required to pay the missed PIPP plus payments for the number of months 
that he or she was not enrolled in PIPP plus, less any payments made by the customer 
up to the amount of the customer's arrearages at the time he/she left the PIPP plus 
program. 
 

4901:1-1-16(H) 

 Again, OPAE suggests removing barriers to participating in PIPP Plus by 

modifying Section (H) has follows: 

(H) An active or former graduate PIPP plus customer may re-enroll in PIPP plus at any 
time, provided that he or she meets the income qualifications. The active or former 
graduate PIPP plus customer must be current with his or her graduate PIPP plus 
payments or cure any missed graduate PIPP plus default prior to re-enrollment in PIPP 
plus. 
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122:5-3-06 

 This Section should be rewritten to reflect current law, specifically 4928.54, 

et.seq. 

 

Section II – Comments on Ohio Adm.Code Chapter 4901:1-17. 

OPAE supports the changes proposed by Staff, and offers no other comments to 

this Chapter. 

 

Section III – Comments on Ohio Admin.Code, Chpater 122:5-3 that are Unrelated 
to the PIPP Plus Program. 

 
ODSA has proposed no changes to the provisions of the rules that are unrelated 

to the PIPP Plus Program.  OPAE has no recommended changes for these provisions. 

 

Section IV – Comments on Ohio Admin.Code Chapter 4901:1-18 that are 
Unrelated to the PIPP Plus Program 

 
 
ORC 4901:1-18-02 

OPAE recommend the following changes to subsection (B): 

(A) Nothing contained in this chapter shall in any way preclude the commission 
from any of the following: 

(1) Altering, or amending, in whole or in part, the rules and regulations in this 
chapter through a rulemaking process under Chapter 106. 

(2) Prescribing different standards for the disconnection and reconnection of 
electric, gas, or natural gas service as deemed necessary by the commission. 

(3) Waiving any requirement, standard, or rule set forth in this chapter for good 
cause shown, as supported by a motion and supporting the memorandum. 
The application for a waiver shall include the specific rule(s) requested to 
be waived. If the request is to waive only a part or parts of a rule, then the 
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application should identify the appropriate paragraphs to be waived. The 
waiver request shall provide sufficient explanation, by rule, to allow the 
commission to thoroughly evaluate the waiver request. 

 

The intent of this change is to require that any change to this Chapter be 

accomplished through a rulemaking process, not through waivers.  

 
ORC 4901:1-18-05 
 
 OPAE recommends that the phrase “or other community-based nonprofit 

organization designated by the Ohio development services agency” be added after ‘the 

local community action agency’.  This change recognizes that agencies are involved in 

providing PIPP Plus services that are not community action agencies. 

 

ORC 4901:1-18-06 

 OPAE disagrees with the Staff proposal to allow disconnection later in the day on 

Fridays or other days when utility offices will be closed the following day in subsection 

(A)(1).  Disconnecting customers at 3:30 pm provides little opportunity for a customer to 

gather the funds necessary to be reconnected, meaning the disconnection will last 

through a two-day or longer holiday weekend.  Food stored in refrigerators will spoil 

over that time, exacerbating the financial situation of the customer.  The timeframe of 

the current rule should be retained. 

 Utilities regularly aver that some customers are difficult or even dangerous to 

deal with, and that fact, coupled with the technology to support remote disconnection, 

supports elimination of the personal visit on day of disconnection.  OPAE believes that 
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rather than a wholesale waiver, an appropriate exception does make sense, and 

proposes inclusion of the following language in this section: 

(3) A company is not required to provide a personal notice if a reasonable man would 
conclude there is a threat of bodily harm to the utility personnel attempting to deliver 
the notice. 
  

 The next subsection, 4901:1-18-06(A)(3)(c) requires notice of a pending 

disconnection be provided to the country department of job and family services when it 

the utility has been provided with a written request for notification.  This should be 

extended to “local community action agencies, or other community-based nonprofit 

organization designated by the Ohio development services agency,” by inserting this 

language after the three instances where ‘county department of job and family services’ 

appears.  This will enhance the ability of agencies helping manage HEAP and PIPP 

Plus in providing case management services to its clients. 

 OPAE also notes that the requirements for the disconnection notice contained in 

4901:1-18-06(A)(5) are far more extensive than what can be included in a tweet or 

robocall.  Without these notices, customers are not receiving the level of protection from 

disconnection embodied in these rules.  There should be no waivers of the requirement 

to provide these notices on the day of disconnection. 

It should be made clear that electronic contracts can only be substituted for 

written notifications with a customer’s consent.  Section 4901:1-18-06(B)(1) should be 

modified by included the following sentence at the end of the Section:  “Electronic 

contacts are permitted only with permission of the customer.” 
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ORC 4901:1-18-07 
 

 New technologies permit remote disconnection and reconnection of electric utility 

service.  The business cases for smart meter systems assume significant savings 

associated with this capability because there is no longer need for a truck role to 

effectuate disconnection.  These savings should be reflected in the fee paid by 

customers that are being reconnected, consistent with the principal of cost causation.  

OPAE recommends that the reconnect fee be capped at $10.00 during regular business 

hours and $15.00 for reconnection during the evening or on weekends. 

 

CONCLUSION 

 OPAE appreciates the efforts of staff from both agencies to update and improve 

these important rules.  By and large, OPAE agrees with the suggested modifications.  

However, OPAE remains convinced that because the participants in PIPP Plus are 

among the most vulnerable utility customers.  The PIPP Plus program is critical to these 

families maintaining service, but there must be a recognition that the percentage of 

income we are insisting these customers pay far exceeds the energy burden of the 

average family.  As a result, there needs to be a recognition that customers may not 

make every payment annually.  Requiring customers to make up all payments by an 

anniversary date is tantamount to preventing future participation in the program.  A 

better option is to add the missed payments to the arrearages and recalculate the 

amount of arrearages subject to forgiveness monthly.  PIPP Plus has improved 

payment performance, but the ‘loaves and fishes’ are not adequate for every family to 

make or make-up every payment.  A recognition of that fact will better protect the 
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elderly, disable, and families with children that make up the bulk of PIPP Plus 

participants. 

 

Respectfully Submitted, 
 
/s/ David C. Rinebolt                         
David C. Rinebolt 
Executive Director and Counsel 
Ohio Partners for Affordable Energy  
P.O. Box 1793 
Findlay, Ohio 45839-1793 
Telephone: (419) 425-8860 
Cell: (614) 975-8692 
drinebolt@opae.org 
 
(willing to accept e-mail service) 
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