

RECEIVED-DOCKETING DIV

2014 OCT 21 PM 12: 07

PUCO

PUCO Docketing Division
Public Utilities Commission of Ohio
180 E. Broad Street
Columbus, Ohio 43215-3793

Chairman Thomas W. Johnson Public Utilities Commission of Ohio 180 E. Broad Street Columbus, Ohio 43215-3793

Re: Electric Security Plan of Ohio Edison Company, The Cleveland Electric Illuminating Company and The Toledo Edison Company, Case No: 14-1297-EL-SSO

Dear Chairman Johnson:

I support the FirstEnergy utilities' Economic Stability Program proposed in PUCO Case No. 14-1297-EL-SSO.

As an employee of the W.H. Sammis Plant in Stratton, Ohio, I believe the Economic Stability Program is essential to ensuring reliable, affordable service for FirstEnergy utilities' customers, as well as greater certainty for my power plant and the highly skilled Ohioans it employs.

The program will help ensure economic growth and prosperity in our region by supporting Ohio jobs and fuel-diverse baseload power plants operating in Ohio. This economic development and job retention program will help keep Sammis and the Davis-Besse Nuclear Power Station in Oak Harbor, Ohio, serving as strong, Ohio-based sources of energy and jobs for the 15 years of the proposed program.

The employment implications are substantial – at the plants as well as regionally and statewide. The Economic Stability Program is estimated to preserve \$1 billion annually in statewide economic benefits, nearly 3,000 direct and indirect jobs, and more than \$52 million in annual state and local property and income taxes. The program also is projected to benefit Ohio's economy by saving FirstEnergy customers \$2 billion over the 15-year period.

FirstEnergy has been an active partner and supporter of economic development efforts in the Ohio Valley for many years. It has provided not only funding support for these efforts, but also personnel in the field to assist with job-creating projects and initiatives.

For these and other reasons, I ask that you approve the Economic Stability Program.

Sincerely,

cc: Chairman Thomas W. Johnson
Commissioner Steven D. Lesser
Commissioner Asim Z. Haque
Commissioner Lynn Slaby
Commissioner M. Beth Trombold