Ohio Power Siting Board

Ted Strickland, Governor

April 12, 2007

Board Members

Chairman
Allan R. Schriber
The Public Utilities Commission of Ohio

The Honorable Alexa Holbert Board of Trustees Monvtille Township 9755 Madison Road P.O. Box 116 Montville, Ohio 44046

Christopher Korleski Ohio Environmental Protection Agency

Lee Fisher
Ohio Department of Development

Anne Hamish Ohio Department of Health Re: American Transmission Systems, Inc. / Geauga County -138kV Transmission

Line Supply Project

Case No. 07-171-EL-BTX

Sean Logan
Ohio Department of Natural Resources

Dear Trustee Holbert:

Robert Boggs
Ohio Department of Agriculture

Andrew M. Boatright, P.E. Public Member

Steven Driehaus Ohio House of Representatives

John Hagan Ohio House of Representatives

> Bob Schuler Onic Senate

Jason Wilson Ohio Senate Thank you for your concerns regarding the proposed American Transmission Systems, Inc. / Geauga County -138kV Transmission Line Supply Project. As with the consideration of all transmission projects, local and surrounding businesses, residents, municipalities and officials are invited to discuss the present and long-term economical and environmental feasibility of such projects. The response we receive from these entities convey an interest in environmental, ecological and social implications associated with the proposed transmission line.

To date, American Transmission Systems held public information meetings on both March 5-6, 2007 in Huntsburg and Thompson Ohio that residents might be informed on the proposed project. Still at this time, American Transmission Systems has not submitted an application for the project before the Ohio Power Siting Board.

As we appreciate all input into the siting process, once an application is filed, your document will be shared with members of the Board and placed in an official docket for the case. Further, should you wish to view activity involving this application, please visit our web site at www.OPSB.ohio.gov.

180 E. Broad Street Columbus, Ohio 43215-3793

www.OPSB.ohio.gov

Very truly yours

Klaus Lambeck, Chief Ohio Power Siting Board

The Obio Power Sifing Board is an Equal Opportunity Employer and Service Provider

KL: dgd

MONTVILLE TOWNSHIP

9755 MADISON ROAD

P.B. BOX 116

MONTVILLE, OH 44064

TELEPHONE (440) 968-3784 (440) 968-3111 FAX (440) 968-3784

Resolution 4-2-2007

The Board of Trustees of Montville Township, Geauga County, Ohio met in regular session on the second day of April 2007 at the office of the township trustees with the following members present,

Alexa Holbert Randal Peterson Jim Marsic

Alexa Holbert moved the adoption of the following resolution:

WHEREAS, the Montville Township Board of Trustees, Geauga County, Ohio believe that the proposed Geauga County 138 kV Transmission Line Supply Project, Case No. 07-0171-EL-BTX, that will follow the West Route along Clay Street from the Lake and Geauga county border to the potential site for a substation installed along Mayfield Road in Claridon or Huntsburg townships of Geauga County or the East Route (cross country route) which would be located East of Rt. 528 beginning at the Lake and Geauga county border to the potential site for a substation installed along Mayfield Road in Claridon or Huntsburg townships of Geauga County, would have a negative impact on the residents, property owners and environment due to:

- 1. Much of this area is working farm property,
- 2. There would be a destruction and loss of our natural and scenic environment,
- 3. A negative impact on property values,
- 4. Potential health risk to humans and farm animals from electrical magnetic fields
- 5. The loss of some homes, thus displacing families that may have lived there for generations

THERFORE, be it hereby resolved that the Montville Township Board of Trustees <u>OPPOSE</u> the CEI 138kV Transmission Line Supply Project as proposed.

The board realizes that upgrades must be made and suggest that First Energy work with Montville Township and it's residents and property owners to come with a more viable plan.

<u>Randal Peterson</u> seconded the Resolution and the roll being called upon its adoption, the vote resulted as follows:

Alexa Holbert Aye
Randal Peterson Aye
Jim Marsic Aye

Adopted April 2, 2007