

Ted Strickland, Governor

Board Members

Chairman Alan R. Schriber The Public Utilities Commission

Christopher Korteski

Ohio Environmental Protection

Ohio Power Siting Board

April 5, 2007

or			2007	RECI
	Rachel Kuehn, Fiscal Officer	ש	APR -	CEIVED-
	Thompson Township Board of Trustees		ப்	Ö
n of Ohio	P.O. Box 204	\mathbf{C}	PH	DOCKETING
	Thompson, Ohio 44086	\mathbf{O}		Ţ
	-		بي	
1 Agency	Re: American Transmission Systems, Inc. / Geauga County -138k	V Tran	ယ sminsic	»∎<

Lee Fisher Ohio Department of Development

Anne Hamish **Ohio Department of Health**

Sean Logan Ohio Department of Natural Resources

Robert Boggs Ohio Department of Agriculture

Andrew M. Sostright, P.E. Public Member

Steven Driehaus **Ohio House of Representatives**

John Hagan Ohio House of Representatives

> **Bob Schuler** Ohio Senete

Jason Wilson Ohio Senate

180 E. Broad Street Columbus, Ohio 43215-3793

www.OPSB.ohio.gov

P Line Supply Project Case No. 07-171-EL-BTX

Dear Ms. Kuehn:

Thank you for your concerns regarding the proposed American Transmission Systems, Inc. / Geauga County -138kV Transmission Line Supply Project. As with the consideration of all transmission projects, local and surrounding businesses, residents, municipalities and officials are invited to discuss the present and long-term economical and environmental feasibility of such projects. The response we receive from these entities convey an interest in environmental, ecological and social implications associated with the proposed transmission line.

To date, American Transmission Systems held public information meetings on both March 5-6, 2007 in Huntsburg and Thompson Ohio that residents might be informed on the proposed project. Still at this time, American Transmission Systems has not submitted an application for the project before the Ohio Power Siting Board.

As we appreciate all input into the siting process, once an application is filed, your document will be shared with members of the Board and placed in an official docket for the case. Further, should you wish to view activity involving this application, please visit our web site at www.OPSB.ohio.gov.

Very truly yours,

-Chief Klaus Lambe Ohio Power Siting Board

The Ohio Power Siting Board is an Equal Opportunity Employer end Service Provide

KL: dgd

This is to certify that the images appearing are an accurate and complete reproduction of a case file document delivered in the regular course of busines -5-0



Thompson Township Board of Trustees

P.O. Box 204 Thompson, Ohio 44086 (440) 298-9813 thompsonclerk@windstream.net

Frank Sirna Erwin Leffel Ben Smith

April 1, 2007

The Ohio Power Siting Board 180 East Broad Street Columbus, OH 43215

RESOLUTION #31-07

The Thompson Township Board of Trustees met in special session on April 1, 2007, at the Thompson Ledges Park Building, in consideration of the welfare of the residents of Thompson Township affected by the possible decision by the Ohio Power Siting Board in the matter of the application of the First Energy Corporation for certification of the Geauga County 138kV transmission line project, do hereby wish to make the following known:

In consideration of the possible decision to have the First Energy Corporation, Geauga County 138kV transmission line pass through the property of residents of Thompson Township, we the Trustees of said township, wish to voice our concern for our residents' health, safety, financial loss and displacement from their homes, ask that the proposed Clay Street and State Route 528 paths be dropped from consideration. Furthermore, First Energy Corporation should submit safer paths further east in more rural areas with less impact on homes, farms and land or using existing right-of-ways. Any stipulations contained in the Final Decision of the Ohio Power Siting Board Report need to benefit the well being of the residents and the land of Thompson Township and favorably impact all future generations.

Frank Sirna motioned the Resolution, seconded by Erwin Leffel. Roll call: Frank Sirna, Yes. Erwin Leffel, Yes. Ben Smith, Yes.

Thank you for your time and consideration. Our board members can be reached as follows: Frank Sirna (440) 637-2502, Erwin Leffel (440) 298-9856 and Ben Smith (440) 298-9701.

Respectfully,

Rachel Kuchn

Rachel Kuehn Fiscal Officer