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Minimum Telephone Service Standards

All telephone companies are subject to the commission’s rules for minimum telephone service standards (MTSS) found in chapter 4901:1-5 of the Administrative Code. Customers have certain rights and responsibilities under the Minimum Telephone Service Standards. These safeguards can be found in the Appendix to Ohio Adm. Code 4901:1-5-03, which is entitled “Telephone Customer Rights and Responsibilities.” These rights and responsibilities include complaint handling, ordering or changing service, service repair, payment of bills, and disconnection and reconnection of service.

Regulated Services

Returned Check Charge

A charge will be assessed for all checks returned by drawee bank or other financial institution for:  Insufficient or uncollected funds, closed account, apparent tampering, missing signature or endorsement, or any other insufficiency or discrepancy necessitating return of the instrument at the discretion of the drawee bank or other financial institution

Returned Check Charge  $25.00

Late Payment Charge

If any portion of the payment is received by the Company after the date due, or if any portion of the payment is received by the Company in funds which are not immediately available upon presentment, then a late payment penalty shall be due to the Company.  A late payment charge of 1.5% per month, for bills not paid within 30 days of receipt, is not applicable to subsequent rebilling of any amount to which a late payment charge has already been applied.  Late payment charges are to be applied without discrimination.

Deposits

To safeguard its interests, the Company may require the Customer to make a deposit to be held as a guarantee for the payment of charges in accordance Rule 4901:1-5-05 of the Ohio Administrative Code.  A deposit may be required if the Customer's financial condition is not acceptable to the Company or is not a matter of general knowledge.  A deposit does not relieve the Customer of the responsibility for the prompt payment of bills on presentation.  The deposit will not exceed two hundred and thirty percent of the estimated average monthly bill for the individual customer’s regulated services for the ensuing twelve months.

A deposit may be required in addition to an advance payment.
Upon discontinuance of service, the Company, within forty-five (45) days, shall automatically refund the Customer's deposit plus accrued interest, or the balance, if any, in excess of the unpaid bills including any penalties assessed for service furnished by the Company.

In addition to refund of deposit after discontinuance of service, the Customer's deposit shall be returned after 12 consecutive months of payment without having had service discontinued for non payment and without having had more than two occasions on which the bill was not paid by the due date.

Issued: March 27, 2009
Effective: March 30, 2009


Issued by: Jack D. Phillips



State Regulatory Affairs Director, 

14450 Burnhaven Drive, Burnsville, Minnesota  55306

